Little Berkhamsted Parish Council

The civil parish of Little Berkhamsted covers the village of Little Berkhamsted and the hamlets of Epping Green and Howe Green. The council comprises seven elected members and meets in the village hall at 8.00pm usually on the 3rd Wednesday of alternate months. Members of the public are welcome to attend all meetings and, other than during the item for public comment, may only speak if invited to do so by the Chairman.

As part of its commitment to open government, the parish council is making much of its information that is subject to the Freedom of Information Act 2000 available on this website.

Members of the Parish Council

Role Person
Chair: Cllr Ellis Downes
17 Stockings Lane, Little Berkhamsted : Tel: 01707 873450
Vice chair: Cllr Elaine Hunter
6 Goddards Close, Little Berkhamsted : Tel: 01707 875961
Members: Cllr Peter Kent
Old Manor Cottage, Little Berkhamsted : Tel: 01707 875910
Cllr Wayne Morris
12 Little Berkhamsted Lane : Tel: 01707 874169
Cllr Derek Standbrook
Ashfield Cottage, Howe Green : Tel: 01707 261521
Cllr Penny Stokes
The Wall House Cottage, Bucks Alley : Tel: 07956 312168
Clerk to the council: Laura Brooks-Payne
for postal address, please email

Register of Interests

In accordance with the Localism Act 2011 all local authorities had to adopt a new Code of Conduct based on the seven Nolan Principles of conduct in public life; selflessness, integrity, objectivity, accountability, openness, honesty and leadership.

Within twenty eight days of taking office members are required of submit a Register of Interests disclosing pecuniary and other non-pecuniary interests which must be published. Failure to do so is a criminal offence.

The Monitoring Officer of East Herts District Council is responsible for establishing and maintaining the Register.

Representatives at Higher Tiers of Government

East Herts District Council, 01279 655261 | Linda Haysey

Hertfordshire County Council, 01438 737555 | Ken Crofton

Member of Parliament (Hertfordshire North East constituency): Oliver Heald : 01763 247640

Forthcoming PC meetings

Unfortunately, due to the lockdown the Annual Parish Meeting that was to be held on 13 May has been postponed. It will be rescheduled as soon as possible.

Future PC meetings will be:

  • 18 November.
  • 20 January 2021
  • 17 March
  • 19 May
  • 14 July
  • 15 September
  • 17 November


Parish council minutes, reports and other documents

Powers and duties of parish councils

Village Survey

Thank you to all those who completed the survey. Please find the results here.